Thursday, March 29, 2018


Title: Her Defiant Heart
Author: Monica Murphy
Series: Damaged Hearts #1
Release Date: March 29, 2018
Life can feel like a cruel joke. I grew up poor and motherless, with a father who never got over his wife’s abandonment. But now he’s gone too, and I’m dead set on finding the woman who so carelessly tossed me aside when I was a baby.

I want revenge. And I’m going to get back at my mother any way that I can.

I change my name. Start my new life in college, and just happen to cross paths with the gorgeous, ultra-rich Rhett Montgomery. He’s immediately interested in me, not that I’m surprised.

You see, I planned it that way. I meant for him to find me. He’s the one connection to my mother, and I’m using him, so I can destroy her. But I didn’t plan on Rhett being so charming. Sweet. Sexy.

And I definitely didn’t plan on falling for him either…
Have you ever had a book wreck you? That's essentially what HER DEFIANT HEART did to me. This book took be through every single emotion imaginable, and in the end I still wound up with a confused and raging heart looking for answers. 

Jensen and Rhett aren't meant to be. There's simply too much baggage there for them to be a couple with a fighting chance. But said baggage might also be why they could be perfect for each other. Jensen is the one with the blatant emotional scars from her past, and the more I learned of her story the more my heart twisted. I simply wanted someone (Rhett) to just wrap her up and give the the longest hug and take care of her. But Jensen doesn't want that. No, she wants to exact her revenge, and then move on with a life where she believe she's already met her potentials. Her defeat is palpable on the pages, but when Rhett comes on screen, he gives her hope, her gives her an escape. But with every safe and loved feeling he instills in her, she remembers why she's at this school, meeting this man. And that truth could shatter every fragile part of the relationship they've made together. 

Then there's Rhett... There's more to his story. I know there is. But right now we're still wading through Jensen's life, and where Her Defiant Heart left off... just consider me sitting here holding my breath waiting for the conclusion to THAT scene. I don't know what is in story for Rhett and Jensen, but I can tell you I am more than invested in their story. 

Monica Murphy has created a gritty and emotionally thrilling story with Her Defiant Heart. Every page lead to another stolen temptation, another shattered realization, another piece of a wickedly woven puzzle I couldn't get enough of! I will be not-so-patient waiting for the next installment of the Damaged Hearts series to see where it takes Jensen and Rhett. 

Happy Reading!
*ARC provided by the author in exchange for an honest review*

Monica Murphy is the New York Times, USA Today and #1 international bestselling author of the One Week Girlfriend series, the Billionaire Bachelors and The Rules series. Her books have been translated in almost a dozen languages and has sold over one million copies worldwide. She is both self-published and published by Random House/Bantam and Harper Collins/Avon. She writes new adult, young adult and contemporary romance.

She is a wife and a mother of three who lives in central California on fourteen acres in the middle of nowhere along with their one dog and too many cats. A self-confessed workaholic, when she's not writing, she's reading or hanging out with her husband and kids. She's a firm believer in happy endings, though she will admit to putting her characters through angst-filled moments before they finally get that hard won HEA.

No comments:

Post a Comment