Friday, August 11, 2017

REVIEW ~THE WRIGHT MISTAKE BY KA LINDE~

Title: The Wright Mistake
Author: K.A. Linde
Release Date: August 8, 2017

My Rating: 4 STARS
A new stand alone enemies-to-lovers romance by USA Today bestselling author K.A. Linde...

I spent six weeks screwing Austin Wright’s brains out and all I got was this broken heart.

He can’t be trusted. Not with my body or my heart. Yet, two years have passed and I still crave him like an addict needing a fix.

The last time we tried this, it nearly ruined me. I know I should run and never look back. But his dark haunted eyes and razor blade smile speak to my soul. His touch sets my body on fire. And we all know what happens when you light gasoline. Someone is bound to get burned.

A second chance might destroy us both.

Because everyone knows two wrongs don’t make a Wright.

So many feels for this book. Austin and Julia experienced such extremes in their relationship, and just about broke my heart. When they're together they're good and everything is is (w)right in the world. But when stress and real life impede in their bubble that's when Austin likes to take the destructive way out. I know his struggles. I've seen them first hand. And with the exception of the romantic side of things, his actions were spot-on and struck a chord. Julia is one hell of a strong woman. What she's been through and what she goes through with Austin, any weaker of a person would collapse under the pressure. But not this spitfire. She takes it in stride and keeps her head up. 

I always have problems with addict storylines. It stems from first-hand experience with an addict that I can't quite believe in the romaticism of it. Not that Austin's situation turned into roses and hearts, it was ugly and gritty and heartbreaking at times, but it was also wonderfully sweet and sexy too and it just doesn't jive with the cold reality of what it's really like living with an addict. Again, though, this is a romance and it is fiction. And from those standpoints, I loved it and it was definitely a page-flipper for me. In all, this book delivered on so many counts and I enjoyed every bit of it. I will say that one twist for one of the Wright siblings, just about gutted me, but there are hints of happiness coming that I see and oh boy am I excited for Patrick and Morgan's story too!! Soooo excited! The Wright Family series is one that I love to engross myself in. It's wonderful and real and raw. 

Happy Reading!
*ARC provided by the author in exchange for an honest review*


K.A. Linde is the USA Today bestselling author of more than fifteen novels including the Avoiding series and the Record series. She has a Masters degree in political science from the University of Georgia, was the head campaign worker for the 2012 presidential campaign at the University of North Carolina at Chapel Hill, and served as the head coach of the Duke University dance team. She loves reading fantasy novels, geeking out over Star Wars, binge-watching Supernatural, and dancing in her spare time.

She currently lives in Lubbock, Texas, with her husband and two super adorable puppies.

BLURB REVEAL ~DIRTY FILTHY RICH LOVE BY LAURELIN PAIGE~

Title: Dirty Filthy Rich Love
Author: Laurelin Paige
Series: Dirty Duet #2
Release Date: September 11, 2017
I’ve discovered Donovan Kincaid’s secret.

It’s dirty and filthy and rich – as dirty and filthy and rich as he is – and it haunts me as much as he ever did.

Even after knowing what I know now, I still want to talk to him, to touch him. But there’s an ocean between us, and I’m not sure it can be crossed with something as easy as a phone call or a plane ride.

Yet I’m willing to try.

He doesn’t know this yet, but this time I’m the one with the power. And maybe – just maybe – if the air were cleared and all our secrets bared, there could still be a chance for us. 

And this dirty, filthy thing between us might end up being love after all.
Title: Dirty Filthy Rich Men
Author: Laurelin Paige
Series: Dirty Duet #1
Release Date: March 27, 2017
When I met Donovan Kincaid, I knew he was rich. I didn’t know he was filthy. Truth be told, I was only trying to get his best friend to notice me.

I knew poor scholarship girls like me didn't stand a chance against guys like Weston King and Donovan Kincaid, but I was in love with his world, their world, of parties and sex and power. I knew what I wanted—I knew who I wanted—until one night, their world tried to bite me back and Donovan saved me. He saved me, and then Weston finally noticed me, and I finally learned what it was to be in their world.

Because when dirty, filthy, rich boys play, they play for keeps.



USA Today and New York Times Bestselling Author Laurelin Paige is a sucker for a good romance and gets giddy anytime there’s kissing, much to the embarrassment of her three daughters. Her husband doesn’t seem to complain, however. When she isn’t reading or writing sexy stories, she’s probably singing, watching Game of Thrones or The Walking Dead, or dreaming of Adam Levine. She's also a proud member of Mensa International though she doesn't do anything with the organization except use it as material for her bio. She is represented by Rebecca Friedman.


REVIEW ~THE FORBIDDEN BY JODI ELLEN MALPAS~

Title: The Forbidden
Author: Jodi Ellen Malpas
Release Date: August 8, 2017

My Rating: 4 STARS
Annie has never experienced the 'spark' with a guy-that instant chemistry that renders you weak in the knees. That is, until a night out brings her face to face with the dangerously sexy and mysterious Jack. It's not just a spark that ignites between them. It's an explosion. Jack promises to consume Annie, and he fully delivers on that promise.

Overwhelmed by the intensity of their one night together, Annie slips out of their hotel room. She is certain that a man who's had such a powerful impact on her must be dangerous. She has no idea that he belongs to another. That he's forbidden.
This book. This book. This book. I went into this book completely blind. I didn't know what to expect, but good heavens this book delivered SO much and packed an epic punch. This is one of those books that I had to read, take a few days away from and then come back and write this review. It was perplexing and thought-provoking, maddening and amazing all at once. It was A LOT to feel about a single book. That in and of itself. That ability to make me think, and my mind to swirl with so many different thoughts and emotions makes this a must-read.

Now's where we get into the nitty gritty of it. And PLEASE read until the end because I can't counter argue everything as I go, I have to go in sections. So let's start with the cons, though they're not true cons, they're cons from a romance readers standpoint. From a Romance standpoint, this book lacked a little bit of something for me. Annie and Jack's chemistry together was explosive and everything I needed and wanted. But in addition to that explosiveness came a lot of hurt for them both. I'm not going to spoil the theme of the book because if the author wanted that out there, she would have put it in the synopsis. The hurt on Annie's side of things was almost unbearable at times. Yes, she was making her own decisions in this story as well, but I felt her hopelessness and devotion to Jack despite his lack of "manning up". I hate using that term, but I've searched and haven't found a better one for the circumstances. Though on the other hand, I could feel Jack's hopelessness as well. It really just broke my heart and it wasn't completely mended at the end of the book.

BUT (and now here is where a lot of the positives come through) THAT'S REAL LIFE. It doesn't always work out the way everyone would like. It's NOT easy. There's heartbreak and mistakes and passion and and and. THAT'S what this book delivers on so brilliantly. It gives the reader a heavenly dose of realism, along with fairytale passion that some can only dream about. Seriously, I never doubted for a minute if Jack and Annie were supposed to be together. My only hang up came from putting themselves in an almost impossible no-win situation that eventually endangered both of them even further than the emotional damage they were wreaking on themselves. But when they were together, everything felt so incredibly right and whole. And good gracious this writing is FANTASTIC. That was something that kept me reading even when I couldn't think my heart could take it at some parts.

This book is not a pure romance, as I categorize it. But it is one heck of an amazing read and I won't hesitate to pick up another of Ms. Malpas' novels in the future. She's an epically terrific storyteller and captured my mind from the very first page. As for the story, it is a memorable and highly emotive one that I did enjoy. If you're looking for an intensely passionate, and heartwrenching story, this is it.

Happy Reading!
*ARC provided by the publisher in exchange for an honest review*



Jodi Ellen Malpas wrote her debut series, The This Man Trilogy, in secret, worried about what people might think if they knew what her imagination was capable of. She was shocked herself. But she finally found the courage to unleash her creative streak and self-published THIS MAN – the first book of the This Man Trilogy – in October 2012. She took a chance on the story with a hero who soon became one of modern day fictions most prolific alpha male characters. Jesse Ward – also affectionately known as The Lord of The Manor, sparked incredible reactions from women across the globe and catapulted Jodi into the world of women’s fiction.

Jodi went on to self-publish the second book in the trilogy, Beneath This Man in Jan 2013, just before Grand Central Publishing, part of the Hachette Book Group, picked up the popular trilogy and the unknown Jodi. The third book of the trilogy, This Man Confessed, took Jodi to the top of the bestsellers lists, earning her the proud title of #1 New York Times Bestselling Author. This Man has since been voted one of the top romance novels of all time.

With so much love, enthusiasm and a thirst for her words from her readers, Jodi suddenly wasn’t afraid of her imagination anymore. She went on to write The One Night Trilogy with the delectable and mysterious Miller Hart, and stole the hearts of her readers once again. Her first stand-alone novel, THE PROTECTOR, released in September 2016 and has since been nominated for a Reviewers’ Choice Best Book Award. Jodi’s next stand-alone novel. THE FORBIDDEN, is set for release in August 2017.

All seven of her published novels have hit the New York Times best sellers list – as well as the Sunday Times list and various international best seller lists. Her work is now published in over 24 languages across the world.

Jodi was born and raised in the Midlands town of Northampton, England, where she lives with her two boys and a beagle. She is a self-professed daydreamer, a mojito addict, is famous for her obsession with Converse, and has a terrible weak spot for Alpha Males. Writing powerful love stories and creating addictive characters has become her passion – a passion she now shares with her devoted readers

RELEASE DAY ~WICKED WISH BY SAWYER BENNETT~

Title: Wicked Wish
Author: Sawyer Bennett
Series: The Wicked Horse Vegas #2
Release Date: August 15, 2017
Jorinda Pearce thought she did everything right – graduated from college, married her long-time sweetheart, established a career. But what does she have to show for it now? A degree she doesn’t use, a job she hates, and an ex-husband that broke her heart. 

Looking for a long overdue adventure, Jorie takes a walk on the wild side and attends a masquerade event at The Wicked Horse Vegas. It’s exactly the escape she’s looking for, and even better, she can explore anonymously. Drawn to the man masked in black leather with the body of a god, Jorie finds the greatest pleasures of her life at the hands of a stranger. 

Walsh Brooks is the most sought after man in The Wicked Horse. Sex is nothing but a game to him and he’s the type that will always leave at the end of the night without looking back. Unfortunately for Walsh, there’s no way he can walk away from the mysterious green-eyed beauty behind the mask of sapphire feathers, because he knows exactly who she is.

Jorie is his best friend’s little sister and there’s not another woman in the world that’s more off limits.
“Want another drink?” I ask Micah as he lounges on my couch and takes the final swallow of his scotch. He flew in about an hour ago, and we’re waiting for Jorie to arrive to go out to dinner tonight. My nerves are on edge. I definitely want another drink.

“Nah, man,” Micah says as he pushes up from the couch and moves to take his glass back into the kitchen that opens straight from the living room. “Tonight’s not about getting drunk. It’s about hanging out with my two favorite people in the world.”

I smile at him and nod, my stomach clenched.

“But just so you know,” he says with a laugh. “Jorie’s my first favorite, you’re my second.”

“As it should be,” I reply, and hope that sounds casual enough.

Micah rinses his glass out and sets it on the counter. As he walks back into the living room, he says, “And besides… I figure tomorrow night, you and I are going to hit the town, right?”

“You know it,” I say as I push up from the chair, head straight to the wet bar, and replenish my vodka. There is not enough alcohol in the world to get me through this weekend. I take a healthy slug as soon as I cap the bottle.

“Dying to go to The Wicked Horse,” Micah says with excitement in his voice. “Want to meet Jerico, too. He and I have been emailing about testing out some more of my designs in his club. Plus, you and me, dude… we haven’t had a woman together in a long time. Your stories about the stocks… we’ve got to hit that, man.”

My shoulders tighten and my gut rolls with nausea. How in the fuck I am going to weasel out of this is beyond me, but I’ve got to figure something out. I don’t want another fucking woman other than Jorie.

“Walsh?” Micah says in question, and I turn to look at him. “We good with going there tomorrow night?”

“Damn straight we are,” I say with a smile. “A night of debauchery for the both of us.”

Fuck, fuck, fuck.

Just then, the elevator doors give a slight hiss as they open, and Jorie is standing there. She looks fucking amazing, wearing a dress done in large black-and-white zebra stripes that’s loosely belted around her waist and comes down to her knees. She’s got on a pair of sexy-as-shit taupe heels to go with it and my mouth waters as I take in what they do to her legs. Hair in that sleek, angled bob that hangs halfway in between her jaw and shoulders, and that thick crop of bangs straight across her eyebrows make her green eyes brighter than ever.

I swallow hard and try to appear casual.

Her eyes go immediately to Micah, and she gives a squeal of excitement. He rushes to her, picks her up, and swings her around. The skirt of her dresses rises a bit in the back, and I look away guiltily.

“God, I missed you, squirt,” Micah says with a choked voice. My guilt intensifies over the naked display of love and affection he has for his sister.

Jorie’s voice quavers with equal love. “I missed you, too.”

She hugs him hard and looks over his shoulder at me. Her eyes are wary and nervous.

When Micah releases her, I step up and casually say, “Got a hug for me?”

It’s a shameless move to touch her, but not something that would raise Micah’s eyebrows. I’ve hugged Jorie a million times over our lives together growing up.

“It’s good to see you again,” she says to me as she walks into a very brotherly hug. I make the mistake of inhaling her scent, and I’m hit with a jolt of lust for her.

After we quickly release each other, she steps back and surveys my apartment as if it’s her first time. She told Micah we met for breakfast one day, but he sure as shit doesn’t know I’ve fucked her on almost every piece of furniture in this apartment. He’ll never know she went to her knees right where we’re standing in front of the elevator and swallowed every drop of cum I gave her.

Fuck, fuck, fuck.

I have an overwhelming urge to fake a stomachache, a migraine, a goddamn stroke for all I care at this moment, and beg off from this entire weekend.

Instead, I put a smile on my face and tell them, “Come on. We’ve got prime seats in Moulineaux tonight. I’ve not eaten there yet, but heard it’s amazing.”

Jorie smiles back at me before turning to hook her arm through Micah’s. She leans over and puts her head on his arm as she’s too short to reach his shoulder. They both stroll into the elevator.

This night can’t get over with fast enough for me.

Since the release of her debut contemporary romance novel, Off Sides, in January 2013, Sawyer Bennett has released more than 30 books and has been featured on both the USA Today and New York Times bestseller lists on multiple occasions.

A reformed trial lawyer from North Carolina, Sawyer uses real life experience to create relatable, sexy stories that appeal to a wide array of readers. From new adult to erotic contemporary romance, Sawyer writes something for just about everyone.

Sawyer likes her Bloody Mary’s strong, her martinis dirty, and her heroes a combination of the two. When not bringing fictional romance to life, Sawyer is a chauffeur, stylist, chef, maid, and personal assistant to a very active toddler, as well as full-time servant to two adorably naughty dogs. She believes in the good of others, and that a bad day can be cured with a great work-out, cake, or a combination of the two.